Skip to main content
added 35 characters in body
Source Link

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, assuming this is copied perfectly, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

I additionally note that the only word that #32 could be that makes sense would be "I quit my job", but the provided word is "quitted", which is not used in modern english.

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

I additionally note that the only word that #32 could be that makes sense would be "I quit my job", but the provided word is "quitted", which is not used in modern english.

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, assuming this is copied perfectly, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

I additionally note that the only word that #32 could be that makes sense would be "I quit my job", but the provided word is "quitted", which is not used in modern english.

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

added 177 characters in body
Source Link

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

I additionally note that the only word that #32 could be that makes sense would be "I quit my job", but the provided word is "quitted", which is not used in modern english.

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

I additionally note that the only word that #32 could be that makes sense would be "I quit my job", but the provided word is "quitted", which is not used in modern english.

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, this piece of text is full of grammatical mistakeserrors. For example:

release...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state (or-- or possibly a mass noun), -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

That said, this piece of text is full of grammatical mistakes. For example:

release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state (or possibly a mass noun), not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in what is supposed to be a language test.

Burden was the right answer.

In the context, as a native english speaker, I'd have chosen 'burden' as well.

I knew I would watch people die and I knew I would see the most awful things. However, being always present at all these moments became a _____ for me.

I knew I needed a solution to it... Writing allowed me an escape... something I had started as a form of treatment...

The following paragraph is what would clue me in that the blank should be a negative. The "it" there refers back to the blanked out word, and you don't need a solution, escape, and treatment for a gift. You need a them for a burden.

The way I read this is that the doctor is saying "I knew this was going to be tough job when I took it, but even knowing that, the job was wearing me down emotionally, so I started writing as a way to process those feelings."

The use of 'gift' here is not only a poor match for the next paragraph, but feels like a bad pun to me. 'Present' can mean 'in that location' but it can also mean 'a gift', so juxtaposing those words makes it sound like a joke that's quite out of place.

This is a bad test.

That said, this piece of text is full of errors. For example:

...release the world from sufferings but, believing I was not bright enough...

It should say "release the world from suffering" (suffering is a state -- or possibly a mass noun -- not a plural), and the comma should go before the "but" rather than after it.

Similarly, the prase "Having thought thick and thin" is utterly incoherent. The idiom "through thick and thin" means "in good times and bad times" and doesn't make any sense in this context, where the writer apparently meant to say "having thought about it a lot".

The poor writing on display here makes me doubt the capabilities of whoever is presenting this as a test. Anyone can make a typo, but this seems like a lot of errors in a short space for what is supposed to be a language test.

deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
edited body
Source Link
Loading
added 5 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading